Airsoft Canada
https://blackblitzairsoft.myshopify.com/

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

56K means?

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 31st, 2010, 00:14   #31
Steven
 
Steven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Langley, B.C
Quote:
Originally Posted by Styrak View Post
Wow.

The new generation doesn't even know what 56K means.

I used to use a 33.6k modem.
I'm officially "old".
I'm 16, and i know what 56k means.... Apparently im an oddity
__________________
Friends don't let friends use highcaps.
Steven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2010, 00:19   #32
coach
aka coachster
 
coach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: T dot
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven View Post
I'm 16, and i know what 56k means.... Apparently im an oddity
or you lived in the middle of nowhere at some point and had zero high speed providers available.
coach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2010, 00:23   #33
Ronan
Official Crybaby Chairsofter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal, QC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Styrak View Post
Wow.

The new generation doesn't even know what 56K means.

I used to use a 33.6k modem.
I'm officially "old".
Ah! I remember 33.6k modem a long time ago hehe...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Shiney View Post
Yes it is hard to find an Instructor that teaches how to Finger, Suck, Squeeze and Blow all at the same time.
Ronan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2010, 00:24   #34
Steven
 
Steven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Langley, B.C
Quote:
Originally Posted by coachster View Post
or you lived in the middle of nowhere at some point and had zero high speed providers available.
Or my parents were to cheap... But yeah, that works too
__________________
Friends don't let friends use highcaps.
Steven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2010, 11:07   #35
Nacchi
 
Nacchi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Toronto
All this talk makes me miss playing LORD.
__________________
Team GHOSTS - Fides et Amicitia
Nacchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2010, 11:11   #36
Grudge
multitech
 
Grudge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: with your girlfriend, playing with her P90.
Quote:
Originally Posted by L473ncy View Post
Anyone remember 5 1/4" Floppy B?

I have a box of them and I cut them open at the top and use them to store CD's (if I don't have "proper" CD sleeves available).
When I started my IT carreer, I was using 8" floppy disks on our mainframe.
__________________
Nothing says loving, like a head shot!
Grudge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2010, 11:16   #37
BobbyDangerous
 
BobbyDangerous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oshawa
Quote:
Originally Posted by HKGhost View Post
what? I'm still on 28.8. Only takes me 5 minutes to load ASC home page. lol

Haha i remember that.. I still have a PC at my moms place that has windows 95 on it with a 28.8 kbps modem in it.. I remember when that was the big thing
__________________
-Dangerous-

"I love Multicam, that's my Airsoft uniform"

BA Level 3 Certified
BobbyDangerous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2010, 11:17   #38
VooDooPeteK
 
VooDooPeteK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Thorold, Ont
%^k was the shit back in the day..... back when older folk thought the "internet" was what you called the lining in your swim trunks

oh the good old days of BBS and telnet I aged just typing that
VooDooPeteK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2010, 13:20   #39
Hades
 
Hades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Home
Send a message via MSN to Hades
I still rock the MUD's on telnet every once and a while. Sure the clients are easier but telnet just brings back that nostalgia.
__________________
If I was banging all of them, I'd be a manwhore. At the moment, I'm just an opportunist.

Hades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2010, 18:06   #40
T_A_N_K
 
T_A_N_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Remember "Turbo" buttons?
T_A_N_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2010, 18:07   #41
Amos
 
Amos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tokushima, Japan
Send a message via MSN to Amos
My current computer has a turbo button...

but that overclocks the processor lol
__________________
Custom Builds:
FA3674U
Krinkov
G3SD6
Amos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2010, 18:24   #42
coach
aka coachster
 
coach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: T dot
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amos View Post
My current computer has a turbo button...

but that overclocks the processor lol
My first computer had a turbo button too. Supposedly sped things up from something like 12 MHz to 16 MHz. It had a huge 40mb hdd for it's time too. Cant imagine how my sister and I managed to use it for so many years with just 40mb's. lol
coach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2010, 19:24   #43
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
Quote:
Originally Posted by coachster View Post
My first computer had a turbo button too. Supposedly sped things up from something like 12 MHz to 16 MHz. It had a huge 40mb hdd for it's time too. Cant imagine how my sister and I managed to use it for so many years with just 40mb's. lol
Because that's HUGE. You'd never need 40mb of space, man.
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2010, 19:34   #44
Coresair
 
Coresair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Notre-Dame-de-Guns, MTL.
Quote:
Originally Posted by coachster View Post
My first computer had a turbo button too. Supposedly sped things up from something like 12 MHz to 16 MHz. It had a huge 40mb hdd for it's time too. Cant imagine how my sister and I managed to use it for so many years with just 40mb's. lol
You are probably part of the few who really flipped when the first 1Go Ipod came like : "what the F%?K am I going TO DO with all that space for MUSIC?"
Coresair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2010, 19:44   #45
coach
aka coachster
 
coach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: T dot
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coresair View Post
You are probably part of the few who really flipped when the first 1Go Ipod came like : "what the F%?K am I going TO DO with all that space for MUSIC?"
Nah, I was probably already running at least 2-4GB on my PDA and was on my 5th computer build when those iPods came out. I remember buying my first 1GB CF card when I was visiting family in California. Paid an insane amount for it. The current 32GB cards are cheaper than what I paid but no one I knew at home had access to or seen them yet. My first 2GB SD card cost me about the same.
coach is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
https://blackblitzairsoft.myshopify.com/

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.