Airsoft Canada
https://blackblitzairsoft.myshopify.com/

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

56K means?

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 30th, 2010, 20:13   #16
LoneWolf91
 
LoneWolf91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiftsup View Post
I remember writing a baseball video game program on my brothers Commodore Vic 20

It was stored on a cassette tape.

Yeah I am old.
Coincidently, just this past week I did a major cleanup and came across a few of those Commodore cassette tapes!

Shit, my first computer was a Commodore 64 and for a game console, Atari 2600.
LoneWolf91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2010, 20:23   #17
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
Wow.

The new generation doesn't even know what 56K means.

I used to use a 33.6k modem.
I'm officially "old".
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2010, 20:42   #18
Double|Rainbow
 
Double|Rainbow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ottawa, ON
Quote:
Originally Posted by Styrak View Post
Wow.

The new generation doesn't even know what 56K means.

I used to use a 33.6k modem.
I'm officially "old".
Us youngins with our new fallutin' wireless internet lol
__________________


A bullet may have your name on it, but a grenade is addressed to whoever it may concern.
Double|Rainbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2010, 21:00   #19
Bissa
 
Bissa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kelowna, BC
Send a message via MSN to Bissa
Quote:
Originally Posted by Styrak View Post
Wow.

The new generation doesn't even know what 56K means.

I used to use a 33.6k modem.
I'm officially "old".
there are alot of people that call a computer a CPU. like not just the tower, but the entire setup.
__________________
Quote:
Sergeant Gerry Boyle: I don't want to see it. Babies all look the same. The only time a baby doesn't look like every other baby is when it's a really ugly baby. So, unless it's a photo of a really ugly baby, I don't want to see it.
Bissa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2010, 21:03   #20
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bissa View Post
there are alot of people that call a computer a CPU. like not just the tower, but the entire setup.
That's not young or old, that's just dumb/uninformed.
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2010, 21:08   #21
m102404
Tys
 
m102404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Toronto
DSL is to 56K...as Video is to the Radio Star....
m102404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2010, 21:19   #22
Gunny_McSmith
a.k.a. Palucol
 
Gunny_McSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MTL
haha, I remember my parents telling us to not use the phone, because they were on the internet....
__________________


Quote:
"A workout isn't easy, but neither is being fat, make the right choice"
Gunny_McSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2010, 22:35   #23
FACE
a.k.a. Phoneguy
 
FACE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Welland
300 Baud TTY terminal and I was loging into BBS forums and downloading 15K stuff that took 30 minutes to download.

Then I got a 14.4K modem and I was cooking with the downloads, but that was when we used to use a slip connection and have to connect to the internet using Netscape Mosaic.
FACE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2010, 23:12   #24
coach
aka coachster
 
coach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: T dot
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunny_McSmith View Post
haha, I remember my parents telling us to not use the phone, because they were on the internet....
Pre Internet, there were several bulletin boards I use to frequent and tie up the phone for hours.
coach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2010, 23:26   #25
Gunny_McSmith
a.k.a. Palucol
 
Gunny_McSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MTL
Quote:
Originally Posted by coachster View Post
Pre Internet, there were several bulletin boards I use to frequent and tie up the phone for hours.
well back then we called it the internet...lol

I remember using Copernic too for school orals
__________________


Quote:
"A workout isn't easy, but neither is being fat, make the right choice"
Gunny_McSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2010, 23:29   #26
thpethalK
ksuechuc
 
thpethalK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by coachster View Post
then drilling the hole to convert from DD to HD to gain an extra 720KB of free disk space



I think I have MS DOS 3.0 on a stack of them somewhere.
Forget DOS, I have Windows 3.1 on floppy somewhere lol
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pugs144 View Post
Unstep your dick and stay in your lane. You are waaaaay out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Armyissue View Post
Saying that you are trying to prevent bad Airsoft publicity while generating negitave Airsoft publicity on a nationally monitored Firearm web site is like fucking for Virginity.
thpethalK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2010, 23:30   #27
Crunchmeister
 
Crunchmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In your bedroom going though your underwear drawer
Once upon a time, we got our Internet connection over our phone service. Now we get our phone service our Internet connection. How times have changed.
__________________
Crunchmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2010, 23:44   #28
Dart
 
Dart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Grande Prairie Alberta
16bps modem ftw... I still have one sitting around here where you actually put the receiver of the phone ontop of it so it can "talk" to the other computer.
Dart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2010, 23:47   #29
coach
aka coachster
 
coach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: T dot
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksuechuc View Post
Forget DOS, I have Windows 3.1 on floppy somewhere lol
Dude! MS Dos 3.0 predates windows 3.1
coach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2010, 23:51   #30
Dart
 
Dart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Grande Prairie Alberta
Quote:
Originally Posted by coachster View Post
Dude! MS Dos 3.0 predates windows 3.1
and yes coach is right. Windows 3.1 is a GUI for DOS.
Dart is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
https://blackblitzairsoft.myshopify.com/

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 20:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.