Airsoft Canada
007 Licence to Shoot

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > General > General
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Bore-Up

:

General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 5th, 2010, 15:24   #1
Tempest VI
 
Tempest VI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pembroke, ON
Bore-Up

I have a CA AUG, but the fps was very low (180 fps) and the range was also not good. So, researching the problem, I came to the conclusion that the hop-up bucking was done. So I changed that out and it seemed to work a bit better. I haven't had a chance to go and test it fully again, but I read up on something else. I upgraded my barrel to a 6.03x590mm. Does this mean I need a bore-up kit for the more air needed in the barrel? Or would I be fine with the stock size? Do I need to have a cylinder/barrel ratio just greater than 1 or higher?
Tempest VI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2010, 15:30   #2
ThunderCactus
Not Eye Safe
 
ThunderCactus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary...now with less oil industry than eco-hipster Vancouver
550 is the max length on full cylinders, so you need a bore up kit.
Why do you need a 590mm barrel?
__________________
Tamiya connectors suck.
Quote:
Originally Posted by swatt13 View Post
i never understood why the oil refinery had a brothel... i never see them at the refineries i work at this is bull!
ThunderCactus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2010, 15:53   #3
Boyso
a.k.a. LastSpartan
 
Boyso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Québec city
Send a message via MSN to Boyso
And I'd test the gun with a stock barrel first, to help you find the problem.


But yeah, 590mm is freaking long.
__________________
NEW BACON FOR SALE!

"WHEN I DIE
BURY ME
UPSIDE DOWN
SO THE WORLD
CAN KISS MY ASS"
-Platoon

Boyso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2010, 21:51   #4
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
No, you don't need a boreup kit on a 590mm barrel.
My AUG had an extended outer barrel and a 590mm inner and it was fine.
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2010, 23:22   #5
Amos
 
Amos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tokushima, Japan
Send a message via MSN to Amos
you don't NEED.

but to make use of the barrel, you VERY MUCH SHOULD have one past 550mm.
__________________
Custom Builds:
FA3674U
Krinkov
G3SD6
Amos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2010, 04:06   #6
THe_Silencer
 
THe_Silencer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hamilton,ON
Definitely be nice to have; try it out and see how it affects performance.
__________________

It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it - Aristotle
-Founder of Steel City Hamilton Infantry and Tactics
-Certified level 43 Autosniper by Commander Amos
THe_Silencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2010, 12:41   #7
Short Round
Najohn
 
Short Round's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SkyDome
This is my main problem now too. A bore up will help but it might not be a big improvement. Here's what i suggest

1: Ignore this step, see below post. *Thanks stryak

2. Hop up rubber, although you have it installed it may no be properly fitted into the unit. Now that is my current problem, you may not have that problem, I wouldn't know haha

3. O-Ring around the Piston head, this is a second problem I have now. If the O-ring is not perfectly fitted for your cylinder and piston head, the airseal will be very weak.

4. Spring, my third problem, check which kind of spring you have, mine is currently all weared out and bent out of place so its not performing to it's expected self.

5. Piston, your piston's teeth may be weared out.

Pretty much it could be ANYTHING lol, I may suggest taking it to a gun doc
__________________


P90's 101 Guide

Last edited by Short Round; October 6th, 2010 at 13:56..
Short Round is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2010, 13:28   #8
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
Quote:
Originally Posted by Najohn View Post
1: Make sure the port on the cylinder is facing towards the back of the gearbox, I did this and my FPS/airseal went horrific.
AUG's have non-ported cylinders FYI.
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2010, 13:53   #9
noypi
 
noypi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Oakville
Apart from what was mentioned. Also check if there is some play/ gap between the butt plate and the gearbox, this can affect the seal of the air nozzle to the hop up which cause a significant drop in FPS.
noypi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2010, 14:04   #10
m102404
Tys
 
m102404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Toronto
These might be two different things really...

1. Over 550mm and you're into boreup range...I think at 590 you would be in for a kit. You'd definitely have a full cylinder...LOL, don't know how that got into this...

2. Airseal (note...I've only worked on TM AUGs...so dunno if the CA one differs significantly). Aside from within the mechbox itself, there's two things that can greatly affect the airseal between the nozzle and hopup unit/rubber. The positioning of the mechbox in the stock and the assembled position of the front end.

Typically, as long as nothing is broken in the stock, it's not too hard to ensure that the mechbox is pushed/held forward securely.

With the front end assembled, check that there isn't any back/forth play that would end up moving the barrel assembly (thus the hopup/rubber) away from the mechbox/nozzle. On some of the ones I've seen the cross bolt that you'd push to the side to release the front end can get worn...allowing the front end to move around (compromizing the air seal). I think on the last one I worked on I rebuilt the engagement surface of the bolt...(might have built up the lug that it bears against and just tidied up the cross bolt...can't remember). End result was that the front end was held tight in place and FPS/consistency picked right back up.

Best of luck


(of course the simplest way to test if you need a bore up for your rifle is to try another inner barrel that's shorter....)
m102404 is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > General > General

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
007 Licence to Shoot

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.