Airsoft Canada
http://triggerairsoft.com/shop/

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Mounting (bow chika wow wow)

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 26th, 2010, 17:03   #1
SniperSam
 
SniperSam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Edmonton, AB
Send a message via AIM to SniperSam Send a message via MSN to SniperSam Send a message via Skype™ to SniperSam
Mounting (bow chika wow wow)

Ok, being as that I am new to using AEGs, how exactly do I mount an optic sight on a M4? I know you need the sight and the gun obviously, and a cantilever mount, but how do I know which is right? And I can't seem to find a thread on this already...so if you could either link me to it or give me some advice, it'd be much appreciated

Btw, it's a JG M4A1 Basic version
__________________
Proud Member of the Strelok society


Whoa guy with the thumb rings, save some pussy for the rest of us

Welcome to Bed Bath and Beyoncé, if you find anything you like, put a ring on it.

What idiot called them Black Bears instead of African Abearicans
SniperSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2010, 17:08   #2
Blitzed
 
Blitzed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: St. Albert, AB
You take the removable carrying handle off.. and put on the optic.. ? The basic JG M4's have a removable carrying handle..
Blitzed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2010, 17:25   #3
diamond_SEA
 
diamond_SEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Oakbank, MB
Send a message via MSN to diamond_SEA
Once you get the pieces in your hands, its pretty obvious.

basically, loosen the large screw by hand on the mount, then position the mount on the rail, then re tighten the screw.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by White_knight View Post
your right,when it rains the burger joint across the street does have cats for 4.99$ but that doesnt mean that i can just go get all the grape jelly i want
diamond_SEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2010, 17:31   #4
SniperSam
 
SniperSam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Edmonton, AB
Send a message via AIM to SniperSam Send a message via MSN to SniperSam Send a message via Skype™ to SniperSam
well theres the front sight tht blocks most optics, i thought ur supposed to use cantilevers to get above that
__________________
Proud Member of the Strelok society


Whoa guy with the thumb rings, save some pussy for the rest of us

Welcome to Bed Bath and Beyoncé, if you find anything you like, put a ring on it.

What idiot called them Black Bears instead of African Abearicans
SniperSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2010, 17:48   #5
coach
aka coachster
 
coach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: T dot
If you remove the carry handle and replace it with an optic, you should be able to co-witness your optics with your iron sights. It may involve using a rail riser, cantilever, or higher/lower mounts(depending on the scope/optic) to get them on the same plain. I've been lucky with my pdw's flip up irons and a clone eotech. Haven't even needed to adjusted the eotech.

Having the sights at the same level helps your muscle memory. When you raise your weapon, you're always going to bring it up to the same spot. Faster and more precise movements for rapid engagements.

Also, if you have an illuminated sight/ scope/RDS and your battery dies, you can still see your BUIS and not have to stop action pulling it off or replacing the battery.

Alternatively, you could mount a carry handle scope or get a carry handle rail adapter.
coach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2010, 17:55   #6
SniperSam
 
SniperSam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Edmonton, AB
Send a message via AIM to SniperSam Send a message via MSN to SniperSam Send a message via Skype™ to SniperSam
Quote:
Originally Posted by coachster View Post
If you remove the carry handle and replace it with an optic, you should be able to co-witness your optics with your iron sights. It may involve using a rail riser, cantilever, or higher/lower mounts(depending on the scope/optic) to get them on the same plain. I've been lucky with my pdw's flip up irons and a clone eotech. Haven't even needed to adjusted the eotech.

Having the sights at the same level helps your muscle memory. When you raise your weapon, you're always going to bring it up to the same spot. Faster and more precise movements for rapid engagements.

Also, if you have an illuminated sight/ scope/RDS and your battery dies, you can still see your BUIS and not have to stop action pulling it off or replacing the battery.

Alternatively, you could mount a carry handle scope or get a carry handle rail adapter.
Thank you, that's what I was looking for
So Id want something like this :http:http://www.airsoftgi.com/product_inf...oducts_id=2448
__________________
Proud Member of the Strelok society


Whoa guy with the thumb rings, save some pussy for the rest of us

Welcome to Bed Bath and Beyoncé, if you find anything you like, put a ring on it.

What idiot called them Black Bears instead of African Abearicans

Last edited by SniperSam; September 26th, 2010 at 18:39..
SniperSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2010, 18:48   #7
coach
aka coachster
 
coach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: T dot
I might have missed it but what sight are you trying to use?
coach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2010, 18:52   #8
Brayden
ˇˇˇɹǝʞɐǝɹq oqɯoɔ-ɔ-ɔ-ɔ
 
Brayden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sault Ste Marie
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperSam View Post
Thank you, that's what I was looking for
So Id want something like this :http:http://www.airsoftgi.com/product_inf...oducts_id=2448
http://www.airsoftpark.com/product_i...products_id=70
__________________
Primary: TM MK 17 MOD 0, ICS L85 A2, Echo1 AKM, Echo1 AK-74, WE AK-74UN, JG AK-47 | Secondary: TM M9
Proud member of Force Recon
Brayden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2010, 19:03   #9
SniperSam
 
SniperSam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Edmonton, AB
Send a message via AIM to SniperSam Send a message via MSN to SniperSam Send a message via Skype™ to SniperSam
Quote:
Originally Posted by coachster View Post
I might have missed it but what sight are you trying to use?
Like a red dot or holo sight
__________________
Proud Member of the Strelok society


Whoa guy with the thumb rings, save some pussy for the rest of us

Welcome to Bed Bath and Beyoncé, if you find anything you like, put a ring on it.

What idiot called them Black Bears instead of African Abearicans
SniperSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2010, 19:05   #10
SniperSam
 
SniperSam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Edmonton, AB
Send a message via AIM to SniperSam Send a message via MSN to SniperSam Send a message via Skype™ to SniperSam
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brayden View Post
that works too, thank you
__________________
Proud Member of the Strelok society


Whoa guy with the thumb rings, save some pussy for the rest of us

Welcome to Bed Bath and Beyoncé, if you find anything you like, put a ring on it.

What idiot called them Black Bears instead of African Abearicans
SniperSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2010, 19:58   #11
coach
aka coachster
 
coach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: T dot
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperSam View Post
Like a red dot or holo sight
Do you have it already? It didn't come with a mount?
coach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2010, 20:02   #12
SniperSam
 
SniperSam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Edmonton, AB
Send a message via AIM to SniperSam Send a message via MSN to SniperSam Send a message via Skype™ to SniperSam
Quote:
Originally Posted by coachster View Post
Do you have it already? It didn't come with a mount?
no i dont have it yet, i want to get one
__________________
Proud Member of the Strelok society


Whoa guy with the thumb rings, save some pussy for the rest of us

Welcome to Bed Bath and Beyoncé, if you find anything you like, put a ring on it.

What idiot called them Black Bears instead of African Abearicans
SniperSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2010, 20:50   #13
coach
aka coachster
 
coach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: T dot
wait until you get or decide which sight/scope you want. pointless to shop around for a mount that might not even fit/work with the optics you get. most optics whether it be an RDS/holo or scope, they come with a mount. try it first as it might be the right height for you to co-witness your iron sights.
coach is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
http://triggerairsoft.com/shop/

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 22:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.