Airsoft Canada
007 Licence to Shoot

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Feeling overwhemled here. Feel free to school me lol

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 16th, 2010, 22:31   #1
Brockavich
 
Brockavich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Send a message via MSN to Brockavich
Feeling overwhemled here. Feel free to school me lol

This topic is officially the bastard child of a bigger problem for me.

Okay so I got into thinking of maybe changing up airsoft guns for my outdoor primary or buying another one to mix it up.

Currently, I have the CA AUG A1. Was debating on grabbing a G2010 or GF76.
Now... I haven't really tested it much at all outside in low wind conditions, but it seems to me the thing doesn't shoot very far at all for a full blown rifle. It shot maybe 100 feet or so and then really started to lose accuracy.

Like honestly I don't even know where to start here but I'll try.

1. Is it even worth switching outdoor primaries? Or is the CA AUG pretty solid? Is it worth investing in a tightbore or other such upgrades to enhance its ass-kicking factor?

2. For that matter, what's the range I should be shooting for when it comes to an outdoor primary AR? I've heard most guns out there shoot around 300-400 FPS and can reach out to 150 feet or so. If my gun doesn't come up to that range, what kinds of things can I invest in to make it able to keep up?

3. What would YOU, personally, recommend I get? I mean, so far I've just been buying guns based on what guns I like. But here's something, what's a good gun in YOUR opinion? This is purely exploratory for me but I'd like to know what gun you like to rock and what makes it so good? If there's one thing I will ask it is NO M4s, please. I got tired of those long ago.

Like... man... my head hurts now >_<


Anyways, any help would be wicked awesome. I don't get the chance to play enough to know all this stuff, school and work > airsoft :/


Thanks a ton guys
__________________
Let's get out and pew pew!
Brockavich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2010, 22:41   #2
fleuryfighter
 
fleuryfighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Manitoba
Send a message via MSN to fleuryfighter
1)Upgrade your gun
2) get the best compression you can get, a good hop-up/rubber/scs bucking,Tightbore barrel, M110 spring, And .28BBs are recommened
3)Keep your gun
__________________
fleuryfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2010, 22:54   #3
L473ncy
 
L473ncy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: 11-30-24-1W5
I haven't used it but CA is a pretty solid performer and a lot of people have rave reviews about their Armalite series of guns, so I would assume that the same would go for their AUG.

As for range, I believe that max range is 150 but effective range can be as little as 80-10 ft. Keep in mind this is actual range not "guestimated" range. Usually people think they're shooting out to 200 ft when in reality they may only be going out to 140 or 160 ft.

Also remember to upgrade the player not the gun. Sure there is a minimum required but getting some decent/average level equipment you should be fine to play.

Maybe you can do some upgrades to it to bring it up to a level of performance that you want/expect. Things you could do include installing a FTK (Modify FTK apparently is a pretty good one that a lot of people recommend for price/performance). Since it's a V3 I don't think Prometheus makes too many things for it however they do make the odd V3 part as well as the generic mechbox parts.
__________________
ಠ_ಠLess QQ more Pew Pew
READY TO >> RACE
L473ncy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2010, 23:14   #4
fleuryfighter
 
fleuryfighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Manitoba
Send a message via MSN to fleuryfighter
My M4 has been tested accurate up to 150 feet... but the internals are top of the line
__________________
fleuryfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2010, 23:22   #5
Rugger_can
 
Rugger_can's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Downtown Ottawa
Use Heavier ammo, you will be surprised what a Stock gun can do with .28's.

Cheers.
Rugger_can is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2010, 23:27   #6
Rock 'N' Roll Outlaw
 
Rock 'N' Roll Outlaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mississauga, ON -- The Brotherhood Of Eternal Sleep
As flueryfighter has said, if you want range easiest and cheapest upgrade is upgrade your BBs. What are you shooting with now? BB Bastard .28 are godlike BBs. Try putting those through your gun and see if theres any difference. With upgrading internals, start with the hopup. Get a decent hopup unit and match your rubber to your FPS. The G&P is supposed to be amazing in the AUG, not sure if it fits the CA like it does the TM though. Before you get an entire new unit try just changing the hopup rubber.
__________________
My trust is in whiskey, in weed and in Slayer, its GODDAMN ELECTRIC - Pantera

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pliskin View Post
This is the equivalent to knocking on deaths door and blowing his head off with a shotgun.
Rock 'N' Roll Outlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2010, 00:21   #7
Pinard
formerly Contractor 6-8, CptPinard17eRAM
 
Pinard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Quebec, Saint-Hyacinthe
is not a .28BB to heavy for a 300-350 FPS AEG ?
Pinard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2010, 00:26   #8
Rugger_can
 
Rugger_can's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Downtown Ottawa
Quote:
Originally Posted by Contractor 6-8 View Post
is not a .28BB to heavy for a 300-350 FPS AEG ?
Really depends on the gun its being fired from, but No. they are not.
Rugger_can is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2010, 00:58   #9
L473ncy
 
L473ncy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: 11-30-24-1W5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Contractor 6-8 View Post
is not a .28BB to heavy for a 300-350 FPS AEG ?
Not really actually, if you play around with the numbers at 330 on .2's you're still getting something like 280 on .28's, a little slower than most PB fields' max speeds however for the effective range boost it's worth it IMO. At 350 on .2's you're getting a little under 300 on .28's again, this is what most PB fields speed limits are.

Just lead your shots a bit and you should be more accurate and be able to engage at larger distances.
__________________
ಠ_ಠLess QQ more Pew Pew
READY TO >> RACE
L473ncy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2010, 02:23   #10
Brockavich
 
Brockavich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Send a message via MSN to Brockavich
Alright... Well I think before I go running to any conclusions about my gun's accuracy I ought to take it to a field somewhere and set up markers when there's no wind. (last I tested it outside it was kinda gusty)

But alright I'll check out some parts you guys suggested...

One more thing though:
Do you think anyone would sell an A3 upgrade kit? As in, essentially swapping out the whole barrel assembly? Because other than the barrel assembly there isn't a difference between the two is there?

Or am I going to have to go out and buy an A3 if I want some front rails >_>
__________________
Let's get out and pew pew!
Brockavich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2010, 02:26   #11
Amos
 
Amos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tokushima, Japan
Send a message via MSN to Amos
Lol come see me once I get back to winnipeg, I can work magic with gearboxes.. V3's especially
__________________
Custom Builds:
FA3674U
Krinkov
G3SD6
Amos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2010, 08:19   #12
Pinard
formerly Contractor 6-8, CptPinard17eRAM
 
Pinard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Quebec, Saint-Hyacinthe
Quote:
Originally Posted by L473ncy View Post
Not really actually, if you play around with the numbers at 330 on .2's you're still getting something like 280 on .28's, a little slower than most PB fields' max speeds however for the effective range boost it's worth it IMO. At 350 on .2's you're getting a little under 300 on .28's again, this is what most PB fields speed limits are.

Just lead your shots a bit and you should be more accurate and be able to engage at larger distances.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brockavich View Post
Alright... Well I think before I go running to any conclusions about my gun's accuracy I ought to take it to a field somewhere and set up markers when there's no wind. (last I tested it outside it was kinda gusty)

But alright I'll check out some parts you guys suggested...

One more thing though:
Do you think anyone would sell an A3 upgrade kit? As in, essentially swapping out the whole barrel assembly? Because other than the barrel assembly there isn't a difference between the two is there?

Or am I going to have to go out and buy an A3 if I want some front rails >_>
ok thanks a lot guys I gonna use my .28g BB bastards then !
Pinard is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
007 Licence to Shoot

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 15:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.