Airsoft Canada
Airsoft Depot

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Butane.

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 28th, 2010, 01:34   #1
Belaslav
 
Belaslav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
Butane.

Can it be used instead of green gas/propane/duster gas?
Belaslav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2010, 02:01   #2
Amos
 
Amos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tokushima, Japan
Send a message via MSN to Amos
no.
__________________
Custom Builds:
FA3674U
Krinkov
G3SD6
Amos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2010, 02:03   #3
Rugger_can
 
Rugger_can's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Downtown Ottawa
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belaslav View Post
Can it be used instead of green gas/propane/duster gas?
butane has almost extremely low pressure at vaporization at common temperatures. Thus it is highly ineffective.

Simple answer no.


Sonofa.. Amos beat me too it because I had to over explain it.. bastardo.
Rugger_can is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2010, 02:06   #4
Amos
 
Amos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tokushima, Japan
Send a message via MSN to Amos
__________________
Custom Builds:
FA3674U
Krinkov
G3SD6
Amos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2010, 02:07   #5
LouisZimmerman
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alberta
Having noticed the similarity of fill nozzles, I was wondering this myself...
so since you asked, I looked it up.
Like Amos said, the short answer is 'no'.
the long answer is:
at 70 degrees F, the pressure of propane is 110 psi. The pressure of butane is 17 psi. Not even close...
LouisZimmerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2010, 02:09   #6
Rugger_can
 
Rugger_can's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Downtown Ottawa
Fine..

Simplified complicated response.


Ever use a butane lighter? Did the butane fly out at extreme speeds? No.. There's your answer.
Rugger_can is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2010, 03:05   #7
The Acer
 
The Acer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Leduc AB
Send a message via MSN to The Acer
I tried this once, and got something like 110fps, and gun didnt cycle, so yes you can use it, but you would be better off using a crapsoft springer from walmart
The Acer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2010, 09:08   #8
AngelusNex
formerly Sepulcrum
 
AngelusNex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kingston,ON, aka Funkasia
Send a message via MSN to AngelusNex
Why? Butane would cost more to use.
AngelusNex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2010, 11:15   #9
The Acer
 
The Acer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Leduc AB
Send a message via MSN to The Acer
... to try it, I had butane, I had a gas pistol, and I wasnt sure. It didnt harm anything by trying
The Acer is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
Airsoft Depot

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 21:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.