Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Upgrading AEG Performance

:

Newbie Tank

Old February 25th, 2012, 23:42   #1
Joshery

Upgrading AEG Performance

Hey guys.
I'm a newb. I just got a cheap M4 that I thought I could slowly upgrade, instead of going ahead and buying a high-end gun (I don't have a lot of cash).
I would just like some advice and/or clarification about this.

I got better range and accuracy in that gun than I thought I would, but if I was going to upgrade that, I would need to upgrade the hop-up, spring and inner barrel... is that right?
Also, to increase the ROF I would need a better motor and battery, right?
And if I did all this would it be appropriate to get a new gearbox, or parts of the gearbox, to stand up to the higher speed and power?
Thanks!
Joshery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2012, 23:48   #2
JonsM4

Which M4 you got? Clearsoft or Full metal or hybrid?
Old February 25th, 2012, 23:54   #3
JLiang

Send a message via Skype™ to JLiang
1. The brand of the gun would help substantially.

2. Accuracy in Airsoft depends mostly on the user, not the rifle. However, a tightbore will help reduce bullet sway in the air, due to the physics of air in the barrel. The hop-up only puts spin on the BB, but upgrading it may cause more consistent performance. Upgrade these two at your whim.

3. To increase the ROF, you can do one or more of many things.
- A: Get a higher voltage battery. (This is the easiest way)
- B: Get a high-speed motor and gearset.
- C: Get a Li-Po. Use it correctly, however. I'm not responsible if your house burns down.
- D: Decrease your spring power, because if there's less resistance on the motor/gears/piston, the faster they go. This is very unorthodox, however, and usually not recommended unless for a special reason.