Airsoft Canada
https://blackblitzairsoft.myshopify.com/

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Discussion > Upgrades & Modifications
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

MOSFET UNIT Questions

:

Upgrades & Modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 23rd, 2012, 12:16   #1
Doctorpepper
formerly Doctorpepper Airsoft NB
 
Doctorpepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New brunswick
MOSFET UNIT Questions

Im looking at a mosfet unit for my VFC FN SCAR L and idk what i the defference between having to Solder one on or the one that plugs into the battery

Last edited by Doctorpepper; January 23rd, 2012 at 12:45..
Doctorpepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2012, 12:38   #2
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctorpepper Airsoft NB View Post
Sauther
"Solder" Wow butchered that one!

I know that the more complicated ones that are wired into your trigger and motor are better and have more options. However for mosfet knowledge I'll leave it to the experts in that area.
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2012, 13:56   #3
THe_Silencer
 
THe_Silencer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hamilton,ON
The ones you have to solder will actually protect your trigger contacts (assuming you solder it correctly).
__________________

It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it - Aristotle
-Founder of Steel City Hamilton Infantry and Tactics
-Certified level 43 Autosniper by Commander Amos
THe_Silencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2012, 15:21   #4
godwin
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Even if you plug your MOSFET, you have to change some connections.

See last pic here:
http://airsoftaustria-tech.blogspot....-tutorial.html

If you need the text you can use google-translate.
__________________
Good Airsoft Techblog: (google translation works)
http://airsoftaustria-tech.blogspot.com/
godwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2012, 16:20   #5
FreelancerInc
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brooks Alberta Canada
the plug in types will only allow you to use burst functions on your gun i do believe.

the wired ones will do alot more depending on the style you get. there are SMU's and full mosfets. SMU's *simple mosfet unit* will only change your trigger assembly so that you can run very strong very high C batteries without melting your trigger.

then there are full mosfets. they have a variety of things they can do depending on the make/brand you buy. they should have the SMU feature aswell as a burst function. they can be programmed depending on the make/brand. there is a huge list as to what these can do.

both SMU and Mosfet will increase trigger response, which is a good thing obviously. however if your gun is running under 400fps and/or regular ROF *less then 9.6vni-mh* the trigger response is all you might need out of your SMU/,mosfet.

in my opinion the main reason someone should get a mosfet is to save your trigger from running strong batteries, by which i mean 11.1v lipos with high C rating and the like.

** 2 out of 3 of my personal AEGS have SMU's. one because it shoots 420fps with a 11.1v lipo and the other because it shoots 350fps with a 11.1v lipo for ROF**
__________________
Forums Rules, Learn em, Love em Follow em
I have gear and gun rentals available at all Team SWATT hosted games in Brooks, Alberta
FreelancerInc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2012, 16:26   #6
Doctorpepper
formerly Doctorpepper Airsoft NB
 
Doctorpepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New brunswick
good to know i just wanna set it for a CQB or a Indoor games
Doctorpepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2012, 16:46   #7
Gunny_McSmith
a.k.a. Palucol
 
Gunny_McSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MTL
Installing a mosfet has nothing to do with setting a gun for indoor games....

As for the VFC scar, since the battery space is really small, you ahve 2 options

- Rewire the mosfet somewhere else in the gun (most ppl put it on top of the gearbox, preventing the bolt from locking
- install Switch assembly integrated mosfet (AKA the AWS Raptor fet)

I chose the 2nd option, and am currently waiting for my Raptor fet to arrive

PS: I hope you know your way around a mechbox, becaus eyou might have to disassemble it to install a mosfet!
__________________
Gunny_McSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2012, 01:54   #8
THe_Silencer
 
THe_Silencer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hamilton,ON
Let us all know how your install goes Paul!
__________________

It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it - Aristotle
-Founder of Steel City Hamilton Infantry and Tactics
-Certified level 43 Autosniper by Commander Amos
THe_Silencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2012, 14:09   #9
Gunny_McSmith
a.k.a. Palucol
 
Gunny_McSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MTL
Will do! I should be receiving all the stuff i ordered in about 2-3 weeks! (some stuff were back ordered... and ACMgear still hasnt shipped my order.... (it's been 2 weeks.... -_-")

I'll also try to write a small tutorial on how to install the raptor on the VFC Scar + rewire the stock with 16AWG silicon wire, XT60 connector, and remove the fuse! (I think it should answer lots of question about those guns...)
__________________

Last edited by Gunny_McSmith; January 30th, 2012 at 14:11..
Gunny_McSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2012, 14:21   #10
Jcotter
 
Jcotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brookfield NS
I plan on getting a Raptor in 3 weeks if there's any left. As much as I'd love to be able to install it, I have never been inside a mechbox.( I only have 1 AEG and I don't want to destroy it.) It Looks like I'll have to take it to a gun Doc. Any idea what this might cost me to get it installed? ( sorry for the hi jack ). Just a rough estimate, I plan on emailing Venture about it soon.
__________________
"A Bullet may have your name on it, but a grenade is addressed to whom it may concern."
Jcotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2012, 14:32   #11
Gunny_McSmith
a.k.a. Palucol
 
Gunny_McSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MTL
about 20$+/hour....

BTW:Ehn I started, I watched alot of videos + I practiced opening gearboxes on a Cheap aeg from Canadian tire! great way to lear your way around one... and the best aprt is, when your done... just return it and say its non functionnal! XD
__________________
Gunny_McSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2012, 14:48   #12
L473ncy
 
L473ncy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: 11-30-24-1W5
I'd predict that you're looking around $50-60 maybe a bit more for just a straight up installation (you supply parts).

If you're able to, ask if you can bring a 6 pack and pizza and ask the gundoc to show you how to install it. That way you get it installed "professionally" (hopefully) and you can also learn a bit about your gun and how to do work on it in the future (and/or troubleshoot things). A few things you might want to learn about while you're in there are;

- compression (how to check it, and how to change out compression parts (this is dead simple if you remember anything from high school physics) and lube it properly with "air seal" grease and whatever)
- spring changes
- shimming
- gear regrease (one of my secrets is to use something like Finishline Teflon dry lube, it's much better than the crappy white lithium that cakes up and eventually gets "gunky", and also since it sticks on "dry" it doesn't attract as much particulate matter like dust and sand which can gunk up gears (really helpful if you play in sandpits and really dry areas or whatever)).
__________________
ಠ_ಠLess QQ more Pew Pew
READY TO >> RACE
L473ncy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2012, 14:52   #13
Gunny_McSmith
a.k.a. Palucol
 
Gunny_McSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MTL
Have you ever used paintball lube for gearboxes?

I'm talking about Dow33 type of lubes, (I have a jar of HaterSauce green lube, and its feels like it could be use with gearboxes, since it doesnt freeze, and is great for lubing seals and metal on metal...but couldnt find any info for that application....)


Quote:
Originally Posted by L473ncy View Post
I'd predict that you're looking around $50-60 maybe a bit more for just a straight up installation (you supply parts).

If you're able to, ask if you can bring a 6 pack and pizza and ask the gundoc to show you how to install it. That way you get it installed "professionally" (hopefully) and you can also learn a bit about your gun and how to do work on it in the future (and/or troubleshoot things). A few things you might want to learn about while you're in there are;

- compression (how to check it, and how to change out compression parts (this is dead simple if you remember anything from high school physics) and lube it properly with "air seal" grease and whatever)
- spring changes
- shimming
- gear regrease (one of my secrets is to use something like Finishline Teflon dry lube, it's much better than the crappy white lithium that cakes up and eventually gets "gunky", and also since it sticks on "dry" it doesn't attract as much particulate matter like dust and sand which can gunk up gears (really helpful if you play in sandpits and really dry areas or whatever)).
__________________
Gunny_McSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2012, 19:42   #14
ThunderCactus
Not Eye Safe, Pretty Boy Maximus on the field take his picture!
 
ThunderCactus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
synthetic works best in my experience.
Through hot and cold, and keeps an excellent seal on O-rings.
Remember all your sealing is rubber on metal, not metal on metal, so make sure it doesn't have any petroleum.

White lithium is good as long as you take your gun apart once or twice a season, but otherwise synthetic is the way to go.
ThunderCactus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2012, 21:34   #15
Korunos
a.k.a. Asteroth33
 
Korunos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
I had a Raptor installed in my VFC M4 by my gun doc and I love it. Programming is very easy, trigger response is amazing. Once I run LiPo is should get even better.
Korunos is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Discussion > Upgrades & Modifications

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
https://blackblitzairsoft.myshopify.com/

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.