Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Newbish Polishing Question

:

Upgrades & Modifications

Old November 28th, 2008, 12:53   #1
Azuki

Newbish Polishing Question

Hey guys,

I have no experience with working with metal and could use your help. I was looking at some pics of some other GBBs and noticed some had a polished/chrome plated looking finish.

Example is the midframe of this:

I was wondering if there was a way of polishing my frame/parts to have the same finish. The metal parts of my GBB seem to have a powdercoat finish or something, giving them a matte look. Also I believe that they are cast parts and still have a few mold imperfections I'd like to buff out. I'm not sure what metal they used.

Pics:

Cutting to the chase:
- How do I know if I can polish the metal?
- What do I use to polish the parts?
- Is it possible to polish small parts (mag catch, trigger, etc.)?
- How do I polish in the small nooks and crannies?
- What kind of file should I use for buffing out mold lines?
- And will polishing off the coating affect the tolarances, durability or cause rust?

Thanks for the help guys.
Azuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2008, 13:36   #2
m102404
Tys

Don't do it. Check out the mess I've made with my race gun and it'll be all you'll need to see to convince you that it's not worth it (also...boredom is a bad thing and will get you into trouble every time...).

If you absolutely must do it. Dremel tool and a buffing wheel is all you need. Fine sandpaper (800-1600 grit) maybe.

But...Don't do it.
m102404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2008, 14:15   #3
Azuki

Quote:
Originally Posted by m102404 View Post
the mess I've made with my race gun and it'll be all you'll need to see to convince you that it's not worth it
Is that the one you normally shoot at CAPS with the compensator? Got pics??
Old November 28th, 2008, 14:21   #4
ILLusion
GBB Whisperer