Airsoft Canada
BuyAirsoft

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Discussion > Upgrades & Modifications
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Is Removing the Fuse OK?

:

Upgrades & Modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 5th, 2013, 23:38   #1
Bar1975
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Durham Region, ON
Is Removing the Fuse OK?

I just picked up a new CMYA M14 (CM.032) and the common issue of a small space for a larger battery is very true.

There is a massive amount of space being taken up by the stupid Fuse.. in the past on previous guns i have removed this fuse and added on Deans connectors to the stock wiring. I want to do the same here but thought i'd look into any issues removing the fuse may cause?

If i cut the fuse assembly out and simply add a deans connector to the wires id have much more space for a larger 9.6V battery

any issues?
Bar1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2013, 23:41   #2
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
I remove the fuse from almost all my guns. If you're not an idiot (keep the trigger pulled down when the gun isn't doing anything, which can melt your wires and internals depending on how long you depress the trigger for) the you'll be fine.
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2013, 23:41   #3
ex
Wanna buy some Nod's? #StolenValour
 
ex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ottawa
Yes..its fine.
__________________
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
ex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2013, 23:50   #4
Hectic
Oh we do hate you, just never felt like wasting the time to give you a user title :P
 
Hectic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
agreed, i removed the fuse on most of my guns, and it seems my latest gun, an echo1 stag15 mfr12 seems to not have a fuse, at least if it does its in the body someplace cause its not in the buffer tube or stock. Like was stated if your gun seizes up or stops firing dont push it and u wont cause excesive heat build up or anything, and ill ad to that check your wires for wear regularly so u dont get a short and youll be good to go.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by m102404 View Post
Hectic....FFS start writing in coherent sentences!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDoorn View Post
Thanks Hectic,
While your posts are sometimes a difficult read, you sure are helpfull
Lvl. 3 certified sniper
FinchFieldAirsoft
Hectic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2013, 00:53   #5
Kos-Mos
 
Kos-Mos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: LÚvis (QC)
Yes, you can remove the fuse.
But there is PLENTY of space in the CYMA M14 to fit a 8.4v large battery with the fuse...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drake View Post
Damnit, don't make me add "no discussing temporal paradoxes" to the rules or I'll go back in time and ban you last week.
Kos-Mos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2013, 10:26   #6
Bar1975
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Durham Region, ON
I'm looking to use some of the batteries i already have here. I have a few 9.6V nun-chuck type batteries and I've heard that you can get them in there with mods.

one last question.. this came with mini type tamyia connectors. I assume it's ok to replace with regular size Deans connectors? All my previous guns have been stock full size (large type) tamyia and have taken the deans just fine.
Bar1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2013, 14:46   #7
Kos-Mos
 
Kos-Mos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: LÚvis (QC)
What nunck? Mini-type or crane-stock type?

Minis will fit without any mod.
Crane stock won't fit, there is just not enough place.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drake View Post
Damnit, don't make me add "no discussing temporal paradoxes" to the rules or I'll go back in time and ban you last week.
Kos-Mos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2013, 14:48   #8
dpvu
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary
Send a message via MSN to dpvu
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bar1975 View Post
I'm looking to use some of the batteries i already have here. I have a few 9.6V nun-chuck type batteries and I've heard that you can get them in there with mods.

one last question.. this came with mini type tamyia connectors. I assume it's ok to replace with regular size Deans connectors? All my previous guns have been stock full size (large type) tamyia and have taken the deans just fine.
Full size Deans is just fine as long as they fit which I'm sure they do. It usually just simple to wire all your guns to one connector (i.e. deans) for charging and battery interchangeability anyway.
__________________
JG HK416
KWA USP
dpvu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2013, 16:11   #9
Bar1975
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Durham Region, ON
I would really like to try a 7.4V Lipo in this thing. I have a separate thread going for lipo issues...

would a small lipo like that destroy this stock CMYA gun? I keep hearing these new CMYA's are built pretty ruggedly..

NOTE: my plan for this gun is not to run full auto all that much.. but more of a DMR type roll. So in other words i won't be running it hot like my M4
Bar1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2013, 16:36   #10
nstahl.19
 
nstahl.19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Kitchener, ON
7.4 should be fine.
nstahl.19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2013, 17:13   #11
MaciekA
 
MaciekA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
I recommend to get a MOSFET with a built-in self-resetting fuse. Do that, and you've solved most of your electrical problems.
__________________
"Mah check"

Now you know

MaciekA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2013, 23:21   #12
lurkingknight
"bb bukakke" KING!
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ottawa
and they're not terribly expensive for a good one.. tirty dolla.
__________________
I futz with V2s, V3s and V6s. I could be wrong... but probably, most likely not, as far as I know.
lurkingknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2013, 23:26   #13
K3vX
 
K3vX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Quebec City
Dare giving me a part name for a mosfet like that?
Also, out of subject, no one ever replies to my PMs when I try to buy classified stuff :-(
K3vX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2013, 00:19   #14
JLiang
 
JLiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Waterloo, ON
Send a message via Skype™ to JLiang
In terms of MOSFETS, you can go two ways: 1) Build one yourself (If you have enough elecs experience and all the parts required), or 2) Buy one.

In terms of buying, I personally like the Gate GDS-4005; It's a basic FET, comes with all you need, and only costs around $20.

More Hi-tech is the Gate MERF 3.2, which is a designated AEG control unit. It's programmable, has arc control, handles high-voltage, high-drain situations extremely well, and is basically a FET god. However, it will run you around $70.

AWS makes some of the best MOSFETS out there, but they're pretty expensive for the good ones. Their RAPTOR FETS are basically the most widely accepted top-tier AEGCU, but they cost over $120 per unit.

Do some research, and I'm sure you'll find something to suit your needs.
__________________
[]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]
------)_'_\ * (
"----------\ * \
"-----------\_*_\
JLiang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2013, 00:23   #15
K3vX
 
K3vX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Quebec City
I know about them, I was just curious about he one mentionned by lurkknight. 30$ for selfreset fuse seems good.
K3vX is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Discussion > Upgrades & Modifications

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
BuyAirsoft

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.